Independent Election Commission

Independent Election Commission

10 former election commissioners jailed for 5 years

Ten former commissioners of the Independent Election Commission(IEC) and Independent Electoral Complaint Commission (IECC) were each sentenced to five years in jail by the Primary Court of the Afghanistan Anti-Corruption Justice Center (ACJC) on Tuesday, over holding a chaotic and fraudulent parliamentary election in 2018, Attorney General Office Spokesman, Jamshid Rasouli confirmed.

“The commissioners were accused of increasing the decreasing the votes of candidates, changing documents and misusing their legal authorities” during the parliamentary elections, held in October 2018.

Among the ten sentenced commissioners are former IEC Chairman,Abdul Badi Sayyad, along with his six colleagues and Abdul Azizi Aryaee, Chairman of IECC along with his two colleagues.

Two more IECC commissioners Ghulam Dastgeer and Ali-Reza Rohani were not part of this trial.

Two more election officials including IEC former Secretary, Ahmad Shah Zamanzai and former IEC IT manager, Ibrahim Sadat were acquitted by the court.

The ruling was announced after a two-day open trial. However, the court decision has been not the final and these commissioners havethe right to appeal against the ruling.

President Ashraf Ghani sacked these electoral commissioners in February this year, following the 2018 chaotic parliamentary elections.

1 thought on “10 former election commissioners jailed for 5 years

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *